Navigator and Weapon System Officer (WSO) info

Guest jrossmanjr35

I just submitted my package for the January AD UNT board, and am hoping for a F-15E WSO slot.

Currently I'm a maintenance officer, and obviously I get feedback from my supervision on my decision to get a rated slot. They all comment on the fact that it is very difficult to get promoted as a navigator, although WSOs have slightly improved chances. My commander said today that I would make a greater impact on the Air Force as a maintenance officer, than as a WSO (meaning I'd likely be promoted to a higher grade).

Luke is pretty much the worst flying base to speak with any navs...so could any of you give me your opinion on the topic...

• Replies 173
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

First, read this thread...

Then go have a beer and wish you could tell your commander to **** off, as he is an asshole. He is just trying to keep you in his unit as you are probably a damn good maintainer and he doesn't want to lose you. But you are trying for bigger and better things in the USAF and anyone who doesn't support that 100% shouldn't be in command. **** the promotion BS, go get your WSO slot and kick ass, and you will do fine.

If someone is more worried about getting promoted than doing something substantial in their career, then they should go find another line of work because the USAF already is over its quota of career-minded officers!

Cheers! M2

Guest dumaisj

I like this new M2 attitude...**** all the bullshit and such. The AF will lose a valuable asset when you retire bro!