Practicing formation work

BADFNZ

I'm a recent pilot-select waiting on a class date. I know I have a while before I even set foot into a UPT classroom but I'd like to get ahead if possible. From what I have read on here, the biggest obstacle to UPT studs is formation flying (correct me if I'm wrong). I have access to a couple T-28s and have the opportunity to do some practice formation work. Do you guys think this will benefit me in the long run? Is there anything I should do that would alleviate some of the newness of UPT flying? I'm not asking for any info that shouldn't be disclosed, just some tips or pointers on a way I can familiarize myself with the AF way of flying. Thanks.

Good luck.

NOT RECOMMENDED. If you want to get ahead, get a T-6 Dash-1 and start reading... memorize ops limits and boldface, etc.

Thats awesome that you have access to those types of aircraft, but without a USAF instructor (or anyone qualified to fly anything like the formations you will fly in UPT) you have a better chance of killing yourself then learning anything that will benefit you in the future.

You might think you know what you are doing, but you dont.

My .02

Chuck

Formation phase is a long way away. Focus on your ability to study, that will pay off sooner.

I wouldn't say formation is the biggest obstacle. IMHO formation phase was the best part of tweets. Some people take to it like a duck in water and some have to work at it, it just depends. Some students breeze through the program, some have trouble in one area like instruments or formation, and some are hanging onto the tail the whole way through. The key is to keep up a good attitude and apply yourself, eventually the light will turn on.

HD

Good luck.

NOT RECOMMENDED. If you want to get ahead, get a T-6 Dash-1 and start reading... memorize ops limits and boldface, etc.