Deciding if I should follow my boyfriend to UPT

keallyn

Hey everyone,

So my boyfriend is in the process of getting to UPT for the Air National Guard. He leaves Feb 2015 to either Columbus(9 hours away) or Vance (5 hours away). My question is if I should go with him. Some back ground, we have been together for 4.5 years. Met in college and then did a long distance relationship for a year while I finished school. I'm a pediatric registered nurse and have a wonderful job (2 yrs experience). I know I could find a job in either place but it just may not be as great as the one I have now, but it is just a year. I'm not a huge fan of long distance relationships but I know it is doable because we have done it before. I know he will be very busy, I have read tons of forums from other spouses/girlfriends already. :) I'm just curious if it is worth going with him or if I should just wait for that year to be over? I want to be there to support him but I also don't want to take away from the experience he will get. I also know the chance of us living together are very, very slim from what I've read. I feel like I could go on and on about the pros and cons of going but I would like to hear from other peoples experience.

Thanks for listening,

Keally

1. Go with him, it's better to be with a significant other than without there.

2. Get married (JoP if you want to wait for a real wedding) so you can use his benefits, get free healthcare, and make a lot more money as a dependent. Or breakup...but you should know by now after 4.5 years

Posted from the NEW Baseops.net App!

• Upvote 2

So you want to pack up and move at max 9 hours away. To live with a guy that is gonna be super busy for a year. Quit your job and find a new one. All to eventually come right back to where you already are in a year? My advise...stay put. There are enough 3-4 day weekends to justify taking a 9 hour roadtrip. If he gets Vance, even better.

• Upvote 1