U.S. Coast Guard Grounds Fleet of C-27J Aircraft

ClearedHot

U.S. Coast Guard Grounds Fleet of C-27J Aircraft

The Coast Guard guys and girls get little press but this is a bit concerning. 

"The Alert Service Bulletin issued by Leonardo calls for inspections looking for cracks in the area where the horizontal and vertical stabilizers attach to the aircraft’s fuselage."

1 hour ago, ClearedHot said:

..horizontal and vertical stabilizers attach to the aircraft’s fuselage."

I'm not an engineer but those things kinda need to stay attached, at least in flight. 

• Like 1
  • Haha 3
  • Upvote 1

Well that sucks but not the first issues with the mighty Spartan. Ailerons were all custom and they were swapped around between tails, caused grinding, stand down at my Guard wing for removal, repair, rebalancing and matching them back to their original tail IIRC.

Good plane though horrible acquisition program when it was the JCA

Never flew its main competitor the C-295 but that was probably the right choice for the stated requirement at the time. Might have lasted in the ANG as a light utility airlifter longer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ima just interject here for a moment and reiterate my belief that the coasties are the smartest among us.  Went through the USVI on my way to a BVI for vacation and noticed 4 or 5 CG helos there.  I just saw a post of FB for coastie promotion while they were "deployed" to the Bahamas.  They get to do their mission a lot more than everyone else.  The few coasties I've known have saved quite a few people in their day and none of them had to spend a day in CENTCOM (though I know some do).  A squadronmates brother retired from the CG as an O-5...dudes assignments sounded like one vacation hotspot after another.  Also, there is a CG station in my city and they have the best booze selection of any exchange I've ever seen lol.   

Anywho, back to your regularly scheduled programing, hoping the C-27 tail doesn't fall off.  

• Like 2