Space & Missiles

Guest madeus

Guest madeus

I'm putting down Space and Missiles as my first choice on my 53. I know most of the stuff on this site is flying related, but if someone has some insight in to the Space & Missiles field, I'd appreciate a little guidance. Things like what to expect for my first assignment, bases (good ones, not so good), training, lifestyle and such.

Thanks a lot

Well I'd suggest you check out the Space and Missile forum on airforceots.com. They have some good topics answering your questions. Other than that though, I've read that Minot, despite being in the middle of nowhere, itself is a very nice base.

Guest aaron.morris

Madeus, the space and missile career field is a very "up in the air" game to try and play in. As a non-vol into it I have found that it can be very rewarding depending on what you want to do. Right now I am a space officer at Thule AB in Greenland and as my first assignment I have been introduced to many people that will be my close friends throughout my career. With that said I'll be very frank about your chances of getting a space slot. I am assuming you are in ROTC. If that's right then after graduation you will report into Vandenberg for OSPT. This course is challenging but nothing to get to worked up about as long as you know how to study exactly what information they hand out to you. About four weeks into training you will fill out a dream sheet which consists of what type of job you want or where you want to be stationed. There are many different space jobs including: lift, satellite command and control, missile warning, etc... These are the jobs that are few and far between and roughly about 25% get picked up for those particular jobs. The other 75% get missile jobs. Now if sitting in a hole for 24 hours a day 8-12 times per month sounds fun by all means volunteer for space and missiles. What I am trying to say is that unless you are single with no dependents and willing to go to the arctic circle for a yea