Roth IRA???

Guest CrewDawg1

Guest CrewDawg1

I am currently in UPT and would like to start a Roth IRA. Those who have a Roth IRA, who did you go through? Good/Bad companies? USAA? I have no real experience working with investments/retirements and am looking for any information that I can get.

I have a Roth through Vanguard. They offer a target retirement fund similar to those of the TSP. The Target funds are very well balanced between US and international stocks, and they have very low expenses. You do not need to know a ton about the market to invest and make money. Some of my buds use Fidelity for their IRA’s. They also offer some kind of Life cycle or target fund. Good luck!

Guest Hydro130

My best advice for any mutual funds is to pick one that has a good long-term track record, and whose fund manager has been with that fund for a while. Get the prospectus and read up on what the fund manager's goals are. For IRAs, I stick with boring ol' index funds. Nothing spectacular, but they have time-proven, long-term performance. There as safe a bet as you get with the stock market, and so are a good choice for retirement investments. For investments other than IRAs, I go with other funds to stay diversified (international, techs, etc).

And yeah, do the TSP too. Again, I just went with the index fund offering for that.

Cheers, Hydro

Guest C-21 Pilot

Both my wife and I max out the USAA's Cornerstone strategy fund as well and have been doing so for over 8 years now.

My advice would buy the Investing for Dummies (http://www.amazon.com/Investing-Dummies-Se...n/dp/0764551620)...

You also have a few weeks left to put money into a 2006 IRA as well. If you have $4000 to spare, I would recommend doing that first, then begin a monthly $333.33 into a 2007 IRA - which will give you better tax benefits (once you file).