Tax free/discounted vehicles overseas

Login Name

So my time has come to an end over in England unfortunately and I head back to the states in a couple weeks...hopefully the BAA has figured out wtf is up with their airport security...and I've got a question for you guys that were stationed over in USAFE in the past.

I bought a "tax-free" car over here and will be taking it back with me. Is it a huge ass pain to register/title your car? I have a feeling I'm going to get stuck paying tax on it. Texas, where I'm a resident, wants 6.25% and Missouri where I'm going has all sorts of stipulations. People keep mentioning the 3-way split, wtf is that all about?

Thanks.

EDIT: I'm too lazy to do a search for this topic.

[ 20. August 2006, 06:09: Message edited by: Toro ]

it better be one hell of a fancy custom-made, one of a kind car that does more than get you from A to B to bring it back from Europe! I'd say sell it, buy another one here and use the shipping money you are saving for the sales tax on the new vehicle.

So, what kind of car is it?

considering i had gone through 3 used cars while i was here. car one got into an accident. car two was a mini that i sold to an amn who wanted it for parts b/c it was a lemon, car three blew up on the highway just outside of cambridge. said f-it, i need a new car.

went for a volvo. laugh all you want. great car that will last me forever and i saved about 6k buying it here.

you can't sell a tax-free car in england, part of the stipulation of buying it.

So you can't sell it? you have to keep it forever? Wait... wait... so you have to keep that car for the rest of your life, and then will it to your children? You have to drive it until it is a pile of dust in your driveway? WTF they expect you to do with the car? Eventually you're going to get rid of it! How much is it to ship to the USA? Thats gotta be way more than the tax on the car!

OK, here's what I got.

Average price of Volvo: $30,000

Tax in USA (avg 6.5%): $1950