Commissioning present / gift

Guest FlyersFlyer

Guest FlyersFlyer

So, my boyfriend is getting commisioned as a pilot at the end of December and i feel like i should get a present for him but i don't really know what is appropriate. I am kinda new at the whole military girlfriend thing and i don't want to look like a fool around his retired airforce father or him. I want to show him how proud i am of him and all his hard work. any suggestions on the perfect gift?

Guest afwife52508

I second the Citizen Skyhawk. I didn't get my husband (boyfriend-soon to be fiance at the time) this for commissioning, but it was a great hit for a christmas present. He barely ever takes it off and he loves having a great watch during UPT....from what I've heard and witnessed, not many use the issued watch over something like this. Granted, I caught a great sale and got the watch for a great price. Had it not been on sale, my husband would have probably not got the watch till our wedding.

My $.02

Can't go wrong getting a watch for him. I too have the skyhawk and love it. Only bad thing with it is that it doesn't have a light. After looking in multiple jewlery stores in a 50 mile radius I finally found the titanium one I wanted for around $325 at JC Pennys in a mall. This was about a year and a half ago.

Watch is a good idea for a pilot, possibly a jinx if he hasn't gone to UPT yet. Here's an entire thread on it. The trend you'll see in that thread is that they're mostly aviator watches and they're mostly quite expensive.

Please keep any watch recommendations in that thread so this doesn't turn a sequel.

Another option is a military/aviation book - 13 pages of recommendations here.

Guest r6pilot

Do you know which UPT base he'll be at? If so, you could get him one of the T-6 lithographs from the base he'll be flying at. (Not sure if you'll know which squadron either.)

http://www.squadrongraphics.com