Boom Operator Q&A

Guest OSP_Pilot

Guest OSP_Pilot

OK, I looked through the search function of the board and couldn't find it. I'm looking into applyin for a boomer position and wanted to get the skinny on the process. Is there an age limit? I have going on 15 years AFRES/Ang time. I am a pilot for a law-enforcement agency here in Ohio, so I do have some idea of the CRM aspect of things. I looked into trying to go UPT, but I'll be 35 in March '07 so I'm pooched on that avenue. Is being a boomer worth it? Although I won't be a pilot on a 135, will my interaction as an aircrew member give me valuable experience that I can bring back to my civilian flying job? Any hints, suggestions....etc gladly welcomed

Guest C-21 Pilot

Best of luck....

I wouldn't shrug off the pilot opportunity that quickly - regardless of age. There are always waiver opportrunities. I would immediately begin answering the following - if it does fall thru, there' the link to the boom POC as well:

The 121st Air Refueling Wing of the Ohio Air National Guard is accepting resumes for part-time Pilots and part-time Boom Operators. We hold selection boards, on an as-needed basis, about once a year for each crew position. We fly Pacer CRAG Block 30 KC-135Rs. Rickenbacker Air National Guard Base is located in Columbus, in the center of the state: it is 2 hours from Cleveland, 2.5 hours from Cincinnati, and 1 hour from Dayton. Please contact us if you are interested.

Boom Operator applicants contact: SMSgt Tom Guard, DSN 696-4579, COMM (614) 492-4579, E-Mail tom.guard@ohcolu.ang.af.mil

Pilot applicants contact: LtCol Chris Miller, DSN 696-4379, COMM (614) 492-4379, E-Mail christopher.miller@ohcolu.ang.af.mil

Guest OSP_Pilot