PHOENIX Programs

Guest hockeymv

Guest hockeymv

Hydro mentioned something that I haven't seen since the first page of posts. What exactly are the PHOENIX programs. I've heard very little about them and was wondering what they are all about. I'm still pretty new to the Herk, but the more I know about career progression and the T-ODP the better.

Also, any of you exchange types, how early did you start asking for that? What assignments did you have previously?

Thanks

[ 30. May 2006, 03:10: Message edited by: hockeymv ]

For the Phoenix programs, there are three:

Phoenix Reach: 2 year tour. First year at TACC and second year at HQ AMC.

Phoenix Mobility: 2 year tour as an AMLO working/commanding TALCE units or Aerial Ports.

Phoenix Crossflow: 3 Year tour crossflowing to another AMC airframe. Basically (as a Herk guy) you're going to go to a tanker or strat airlift platform to learn the other side of the house. After this tour you'll most likely go to staff and then back to an MWS. But you might not come back to the Herk. For example, if you flew a tanker for crossflow you'll be eligible for leadership in a tanker squadron.

The basis of these programs is to teach you more about mobility than you know so they can promote you quickly.

The programs are very competitive as well.

For the exchange tours, don't worry about this until you are an IP. Then you can talk to the exchange guys at AFPC and see what they have.

For both of these, you can start looking at them now, but you probably won't be eligible until you're at least an O-3 and an IP.

HD

[ 30. May 2006, 04:12: Message edited by: HerkDerka ]

Guest TacAirDrvr

Is it possible to do one of these programs out of AETC?? I.E. if I decide to do a white jet next, can I come back and do Phoenix Crossflow or Mobility?