M-9 Qualification Details

Ram

Say I wanted to walk over to the friendly SF shack and qualify on the M-9. Anyone know how to go about this or any details?

Specifically, is it limited to those deploying, or can anyone just walk over and get it done? Also, what are the requirements for qualifiying / marksman?

I'm full of questions 'cause I've been shooting now for about a year with my H&K, and I want to make it official that I know how to shoot.

Thanks in advance.

Talk to your training folks, they should be able to hook you up with M-9 training. I thought everybody had to be qual'd anyway, is that just overseas?

The fun thing here is that we can get training through my boss' personal security detail, so it's more than just M-9s...

Cheers! M2

It depends on your squadron. The M-9 qual is a mobility issue - if you are on mobility status you need to be qualified. Since I'm currently an FTU instructor, I don't need to be qualified, but keeping me qualified would make life easier if all of a sudden it was decided I had to deploy (many 4FW FTU instructors deployed at the kickoff of OIF). In general there are only a limited number of training slots per squadron, but if your training guy can get you one (as M2 mentioned), then it's fairly easy to take the class.

I believe the qualification now lasts 30 months to re-align with the AEF shift.

Guest driftsight

To qualify for marksman:

At least 30 of 36 rounds in a 12 inch circle at center mass on a rough human sillouette. You'll shoot a few rounds each from, let's see if I remember..., 7, 15 and 25 meters respectively.

Guest lovelacm

Uhm... It actually just changed... now there are head shots involved and you fire 90 rounds instead of just 60. Dammit.. just did that about 2 weeks ago. Someone else shoot recently? I'll think on it.

Linda

Guest rumblefish_2