Post Career Options

Jay32

Question

I tried searching the threads for this but is it possible to become an engineer after flying? For those who have followed this path what is some advice you can offer?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4 answers to this question

An engineer as in mechanical or electrical? Flight engineer? Engineer is a very broad term. I was a mechanical engineer for 5 years prior to flying. I could probably talk to it a bit having been in the industry. That is, if we're talking the same industry. 

An engineer as in mechanical or electrical? Flight engineer? Engineer is a very broad term. I was a mechanical engineer for 5 years prior to flying. I could probably talk to it a bit having been in the industry. That is, if we're talking the same industry. 

I wanted to be an engineer in the space industry if possible. I know it’s going to be difficult especially after working in aeronautics for a long time. I wanted to know the plausibility and if anyone has taken this path.

Disclosure: I am not an engineer. But I do have a demanding civilian career that is not related to flying, and requires a lot of schooling. 

These kinds of questions come up somewhat frequently on forums and I don't really know how to address them, because why wouldn't you be able to do whatever you want as a civilian after your military time? 

For reservists/ANG currently serving, admittedly, the "one weekend a month" doesn't seem to exist much for pilots, and all the USERRA regulations in the world won't make your civilian coworkers like you/promote you, but plenty of pilots still find a way to make all sorts of careers happen. If there's a very strong will, there seems to be a way. It just won't always be pretty or convenient.