Flt Sim Hardware

Did the search but drew a null.

Here's the deal. Boy is starting IFR and CFI has recommended Microsoft’s Flight Simulator 2OO4 to get him up to speed on procedure... says it will save him flight time, i.e. $$$, in the long run.

Here's the question: Does anyone have experience - good, bad or ugly - with the yoke and rudder pedals made by CH Products? (see http://www.chproducts.com/retail_flash/index.html)

Before the fool goes out and poaches a neighbor’s heifer to pay for the outfit, I want to know if the hardware is worth the effort.

Guest wrench

papa,

While I'm not in UPT yet I have been flying G/A for about 4 years, I do use Microsoft Fltsim and I have the following gear: http://www.esscoaircraft.com/Essco_Pro_Sim...age_p/10232.htm

I think it works pretty well, and it does work good for learing instrument procedures, although if you are just trying to learn instrument procedures it might not really matter what you are using to "fly" the aircraft, you should be focusing more on reading the panel and charts. Just my .02 but I like the yoke and pedals, but then again, I'm a computer geek in my sparetime.

Guest mrharvester

Agreed. I taught myself instrument procedures long before I ever got my IFR rating using Microsoft Flight Sim. It really doesn't matter what type of hardware he's using as long as you can control stick, rudder, throttle, and trim from the joystick.

Guest alohastyle22

papa,

As a flight instructor I highly recommend that your son purchase the flight sim. There are different procedures that he can practice on the flight Sim such as basic tracking procedures with the VOR/NDB. The sim will also help your son refine his scan. By using the sim and flying a lot I was able to complete my instrument rating just over 3 weeks at almost minimums. I did no purchase a yoke or pedals. I stuck with a basic joystick.

[ 27. May 2005, 07:49: Message edited by: alohastyle22 ]

Guest Apollo

I recomend X-Plane over MS Flight Sim. The