Didn't know there was so much of a difference between rated & non-rated officers; are non-rated officers actually this clueless?

Vice

I'm a Prior-E officer that went rated, and had a rather unfortunate series of encounters with non-rated officers over the last few years. It seems like they just don't "get it" and seem to forget that they are in the military. Completely clueless as to what aircraft are at their base and what they even do. Have difficulty picking up on the subtle clues that aircrew members are fluent in. Freaking out at the mention of the 6-9 weeks that are required for me to fully detox in my safe space from my encounter with them because they made me feel so unsafe.

My time at SOS was quite educational in this regard.

wat do

• Haha 2

Always got a chuckle hearing my wife’s stories from working in the Travis hospital. The majority of people there believed Travis existed because of the hospital, and many of the officers she talked to thought that the planes on the flightline weren’t stationed there but just passing through for fuel or onload/offload…like an airport.

At the tactical level it seems that way and for purpose. I mean if you think about it for a minute, as a CGO your entire purpose is to be singularly guided by your organizations mission and to drive your team to the accomplishment of that mission at any costs and without any regard to the bigger picture. It's very much a mindset adopted from the Army.

With rated careers we get the advantage that we are at the tip of the spear and so our mission is often in co-alignment with operational level objectives at the theater level. Makes it very easy for us to see the big picture. However, in theory, that spear doesn't drive itself, but the force comes from the heft at the rear that pushes it, or; all of your support agencies.