Switch408

• Last visited

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

Switch408's Achievements

Crew Dawg

Crew Dawg (2/4)

1. You have no idea how much I was worried about that.
  2. Some people will tell you that you should go Guard/Reserve to guarantee a certain airframe. There's certainly a lot of truth to that. But if you are making the decision between AD and Guard/Reserve to avoid being an RPA pilot, I would offer that your odds are similar if you make either decision. If you earn an AD pilot slot, you have 'guaranteed' that you won't be an RPA pilot based on the current situation in UPT in which no one is dropping RPAs. That could change. Similarly, you could be hired by a Guard/Reserve unit and be 'guaranteed' that you will fly a certain airframe and that you won't be an RPA pilot. But I have heard more than one story of an individual being hired by a unit only to be halfway through UPT and find out their unit is switching airframes. And yes, that switch has been to an RPA. There are certainly plenty of caveats and dynamics that play in to those situations, but the bottom line is that I would caution you to be making a decision on AD vs Guard/Reserve because you don't want to be an RPA pilot. There are plenty of other worthy reasons to be making that decision. Can't say I blame you for your line of thinking though! Just checking your blind spots.
  3. Words fail me when I try to describe how good of a dude he was. There are few people I can think of both in and out of the Air Force that I’ve met that have zero character flaws personally and professionally. Even I would scoff a statement like that, but he was definitely one of them. I just can’t believe it. Anyone who got the chance to fly with him is a better aviator for it. Cheers, Graz 🍺. I’ll miss you brotha.