AFROTC vs Guard/Reserve?

Guest wizardpilot

Guest wizardpilot

I am a freshman in college in the ROTC program. I was just wondering out of the ROTC or the Guard/Reserve, to get a pilot slot, are both equally competitive? I am just looking at other options that I may have to join and fly Military. I would not mind being an Officer in the Air Force. But the unknown of what I will be doing up until Big week is kinda getting to me. Could I have a more concrete answer as to what I would be doing if I applyed Guard/Reserve? I hear they would hire me, ots, UPT, and all this time the unit is checking up on me seeing how I am doing, and during UPT I know what I will get out to fly. That sounds appealing to me. I just dont know. What are your opinions on ROTC vs. Guard/Reserve for you guys that may have been AD and flying Reserve now? Recommend ROTC or Reserve/Guard to start out a AF Career?

Thanks- Wizard

Originally posted by wizardpilot:

What are your opinions on ROTC vs. Guard/Reserve for you guys that may have been AD and flying Reserve now? Recommend ROTC or Reserve/Guard to start out a AF Career?

I would recommend staying with ROTC. I know things are changing right now with regard to ROTC retaining cadets, but assuming you stay in to commissioning, there is a very good probability of getting a scholarship of some sort. Also, you are guaranteed a job when you graduate (again, this may be changing due to current force structure refinement...but in 3 years who knows what it'll be like). Lastly, you can almost always switch from AD to the ANG after your commitment is up.

Opinions will vary wildly on this subject, and ultimately it is up to what you want to do. Going ANG means finding another job (don't kid yourself into thinking you will get hired into a full time ANG job any time soon!) - so if being a civilian with a really cool part-time job sounds good, then go for that. If being full-time AF is what you want...then go AD.

Guest lightning4eva

Do both