Arnold Air Society (AAS)

Guest skipro101

I am a freshman at Riddle trying to decide how to get involved (there are so many clubs and stuff here). While I want to join clubs that are fun, and orginizations that are beneficial, I am also choosing how to spend my time based on what will rank me the highest among other cadets so I can secure a pilot candidate slot.

I am particularly interested in joining Arnold Air Society. Is being a member of the AAS a good way to rank higher? I don't mean rank as in C/4C, I mean rank as in how I compare to other AS 100s.

What would you say the formula for a competitive pilot slot candidate is, as far as clubs involved in? I don't think I will have a problem with the other 50% of the pie, so I am mainly concerned about how to make myself stand out to the commander. Thanks for reading if you made it this far, and I appreciate your help.

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

AAS will help you a lot. Our Member Candidate Season prepares candidates for FT and helps them stand out in the Cadet Corps. Aside from that AAS carries strong political implications. At my detachment the majority of the wing commanders and group commanders are Arnold Air. Networking also goes a long way too. You get to know people and they get to know you. Bottom line: it will help you but you have to weigh out the pros and cons.

We have our own PT anywhere from 0200 and 1000, which I hear is extremely challenging. We have to get all of the active members' signatures. We also need to pass a written test, on what I'm not sure, and memorize something (I forgot what). Basically, I hear it is intense military and leadership training, I have talked to some actives and they say they can't tell me anything more than that. It sounds like fun, though!

Oh yeah, so would you say that AAS is enough involvement, or should I try to get on some other ROTC club-type thing if I have time to be more competitive? Thanks.