Army to AF Transfer (Green to Blue)

Guest Ghostrider13

Guest Ghostrider13

Hello to my Air Force brothers! I'm currently an AH-64D pilot over here in northern Iraq. I've got about two and half years left on my obligation and and have some questions about a possible life with the Air force, active or guard. Oh yea, I am a Warrant Officer. I will have 1000+ hours and my degree will be finished. I will be 31 with eleven years active time as well as attending the JFCC. What's the best way to go? A job flying helicopters or fixed wing is fine and so is guard or active, although, active is preferred. The "Longbow" has got all the bells and whistles with all the avionics and dual laser gyros, etc. About 300+ will be combat time and wonder if any of this would help me or are all the warrant options being reduced to zero? Thanks for any info!

ATTACK!

• 3 weeks later...
Guest C-21 Pilot

First off, thanks for the service in the region.

As fas as I know, the Air Force is no longer taking interservice transfers, at least that's the vibe that I got when I read about it on AFPC. Any ANG unit would be wrong in not hiring you with your experience, but as you know, in the AF, only the officers fly, therefore, you'll have to go to OTS or AMS. Again, I'm not to all familiar about the entire process, but you get the picture.

There are a few folks who I went to pilot training with who were prior Army flyers (Apache and Blackhawk) who got picked up by AF Guard/Reserve units. One was a C-5 to Westover, Mass, and the other was in the NY ANG flying the herk. If you want, I can get in contact with them to get you some POC's for their respective units.

I know that Baseops.net offers a few states ANG/AFR that are hiring, so I would suggest start networking with those units, most of which are fixed wing.

Also, while in college, I did an internship with a local Police Dept...that might be an option as well if you can find some that are hiring.