PCola and swimming

Guest ElRoy

Hey everyone,

I just got picked up as a WSO and will be graduating in May.

My question is what type of swim requirements are there down at PCola?

As sad and embarrassing as it is...I cant swim for crap. I can doggy paddle and that is about it...can't tread water...don't know any fancy strokes (STS).

Also, who else graduating in May is heading down there? Thanks

-ElRoy

[ 12. January 2005, 17:50: Message edited by: ElRoy ]

I cant say for sure, I was a pilot down there and they didnt make us swim, but there is like 2 weeks where they teach you the correct way to swim before taking the final swim test, no one in our class failed it. One guy couldnt pass the initial swim screen, so they gave him remedial instruction and he did fine. Make sure your run time is decent because you will take a PT test right after you inprocess and another one a few weeks later and its on a hilly cross-country track with sand and wood chips, not on a flat track. If you have any other questions, you HAVE to go to airwarriors.com, its a great navy site and they will be able to answer ANY question you have.

ElRoy,

You will get a swim test, DONCKER, for your final you'll have to swim a mile in your flight suit. It's doable. I suggest you get some swim classes before showing to P'cola. Those Navy Swim Instructors are really "sticklers". If your toes are not facing inboard while performing the breast stroke you will fail (This happened to a Stud during the swim test. Just my .02. Good luck.

Spider.

All of our classmates passed... a marine made it in around 40 minutes for the mile swim, and the AF nav in our class made it at 79:45... (the limit is 80:00).

AF NAVS ARENT REQUIRED TO PASS IT... ALL THEY HAVE TO DO IS ATTEMPT IT! This can mean (A) getting in the pool, taking one stroke and getting out or (B) trying to finish and earning a LOT more respect out of your classmates for finishing something you didnt have to do.