Month on, month off: is it possible?

Asking in regards to heavies. After going on drill status, what’s the longest amount of time you can regularly be away from the squadron? Is a month on/month off schedule (or 2 weeks on/off like ACME) possible? Not trying to game the system for BAH or anything, but if this sort of schedule was possible it would allow much greater freedom of living location. Thanks!

Talk it over with management and come to the meeting with a detailed plan. One of my past squadrons allowed a block of time once per quarter. Another past squadron I'd show up every 3-4 months and did duty for 2-3 months (I was a contractor overseas at the time). These block deals include your yearly minimums: 15 days active duty, and 48 UTAs (or an equivalent chunk of active duty), although I tended to significantly exceed that just to maintain semi-annual/annual currencies. Maintaining all currencies except for monthly t/o & land was expected, so you'll  have to massage your schedule to maintain night quarterly requirements. Once in a while you might lose your night quarterly currencies, but don't make it a habit.

Highly dependent upon leadership within your unit.  Does your squadron leadership have a hard-on that all drills are mandatory?  Are your currencies monthly or quarterly?  As Chida said, when you chat with the Bob's, be sure to have a solid plan to how you'll meet all your currencies. 

There is really no legal/enforceable requirement to live within X miles of a squadron, so the world is your oyster.  That said, it sure does make life ridiculously easier wrt Guard duties/time at home.  If you have a dream location that will keep the family happy, then consider looking at squadrons closer to that location.  If they hire you, most leaders don't have a problem letting guys go.  Switching units is not all that uncommon and often works better for everyone.