LinkedIn for Networking

Jonatthomp

Question

Is it weird or a bad idea to reach out to current pilots in the Air Force Reserves or Air National Guard through LinkedIn to try to network? I’m a CFI with about 400 hours and just had lasik to hopefully be picked up by a unit after the 6 months recovery time is up. I know rushing is huge part of applying to different units, but I’m not sure if that’s really a thing right now. I’m studying really hard to take the AFOQT to get 90s across the board and 99s for pilot/nav. Where I think my application will lack is my LORs and not having any connections. I was searching LinkedIn and there are a lot of pilots on there who are currently with Guard or Reserves. I want to take the AFOQT and get my scores back before I reach out to anyone, but I am just curious peoples thoughts on whether LinkedIn is an acceptable form of networking right now given the circumstances. Any other suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks! 

6 answers to this question

Can't speak to the LinkedIn part. Might do better to call squadrons and ask to rush or of any of the pilots are willing to answer your questions.

But I'd be applying as soon as you take the tests, mo need to wait for the 6 month recovery. The process is more than long enough to cover those 6 months. I went to my FC1 about 4 months after I was hired and and like 8 months after I submitted my application.

Also wouldn't worry about the LORs. Content is what's important. My LORs were my instructor pilot, a friend of mine that's an O-3 and a retired O-5. Definitely no big wigs, but they all knew me and two of them could speak to my flying ability. The boss that knows your work ethic can write much better LOR than a retired colonel or 1 star that's a friend of your uncle's co-worker.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Baseops Network mobile app