Baseops Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Engineer2Pilot

ANG Non-Airline Jobs?

This question is for the non-airline dudes. So this is kind of a shot in the dark and really putting the cart before the horse, but here it goes. Say you get picked up by a fighter unit in a location where there aren't many ideal jobs (South Dakota, Oklahoma, etc). I know that there is the rule of living close to base, but what if you can't find suitable full-time employment anywhere near the unit? I'm saying all of this with employers such as Lockheed, Northrop etc on my mind.

I just commute... I work as an engineer in the private sector and typically work four days a week and fly one day for the Guard.  Its a balance that your employer/commander must accept for it to work.  Living close to the base is not required if you're in the ANG. 

14 minutes ago, motox3005 said:

Living close to the base is not required if you're in the ANG. 

Maybe, maybe not.  Plenty of units wouldn't agree with that statement.  OP, you'll have to talk to the units and find one that's ok with your idea of commuting.  I think you'll find units with the fewest currency requirements will be most open to commuters.  Units with lots of requirements know that you can't min-run and keep up, especially for your first several years.

Our previous OG looked into the legality of requiring guys to live within a certain radius and found no legal way he could force it.  In fact, he seemed to have concluded that you're opening the wing up to a legal action by even having such a requirement.  I don't know to what extent of law he was basing those conclusions on, but I do know he was extremely by the book (even if it wasn't in his favor) and he stopped pursuing such a policy.