ANG pay in BMT

I'm considering joining my local Air National Guard and have a couple of questions regarding initial pay. I have a bachelor's degree. I understand that I would go in as an E3. Since everyone in BMT is an airman (E1), would pay be as E1? If so, would E3 be sown on and E3 pay be at or after Tech Scool? Is there retroactive pay? Also, I've seen some airman drill before going to BMT, would pay then be as E1 as well? Who actually pays during the trainings: the federal government or the state?

Bonus question... I have a full-time job and since I'm voluntarily joining the ANG, are they legally bound to hold my position until I finish and come back as opposed to being called to active?

You will be paid as an E3 from day one of your enlistment. Even though you are technically an E1 in basic training you will still receive E3 pay. You will sew on E3 at the completion of BMT. You will be getting E3 pay during drill before you leave to basic as well. The state pays for your drill status checks and the federal government pays when you are on orders during BMT and technical training also when you are on MEST training days. Your job is bound by the law to hold your position while you are on orders with the military. Hope this helps and good luck! 

• Thanks 1

10 hours ago, Papote said:

I'm considering joining my local Air National Guard and have a couple of questions regarding initial pay. I have a bachelor's degree. I understand that I would go in as an E3. Since everyone in BMT is an airman (E1), would pay be as E1? If so, would E3 be sown on and E3 pay be at or after Tech Scool? Is there retroactive pay? Also, I've seen some airman drill before going to BMT, would pay then be as E1 as well? Who actually pays during the trainings: the federal government or the state?

Bonus question... I have a full-time job and since I'm voluntarily joining the ANG, are they legally bound to hold my position until I finish and come back as opposed to being called to active?