Crohn's Disease and Getting a FCI/FCII: What Are My Chances?

Mike34

Hello all,

I have been doing research for a few months now, and I am now adamant about joining the ANG. I would like to apply as a civilian to a fighter squadron when they have a position available. I am currently a civilian flight instructor with 400 hours flight time and I hold a First Class FAA Medical Certificate. While conducting research, I have found that the military medical standards, especially for flight, are high. Back in 2008, I was diagnosed with Crohn's Disease after suffering from mild abdominal pain. I was put on Remicade treatment, and I still receive that every 2 months to keep the disease in remission. I consider myself fortunate, as the only side effect of the disease that I've experienced was the mild abdominal pain due to inflammation in a small portion of my small intestine. I have never been hospitalized, I've never had a "flare-up," never had an operation. A recent procedure revealed that the disease is almost in complete remission. With that being said, what are my chances? Remicade is an approved USAF medication. My disease is almost in complete remission. I've never had any adverse side effects. I have yearly examinations to make sure everything is working properly. I have years worth of documents and pictures from previous procedures stating/showing that I am in good health. I have been granted a First Class Medical from the FAA. I am hoping all of this will have some weight when and if I apply for a waiver (which I am going to need). If I can't get an FCI, I would consider flying heavies, which from my research requires at minimum an FCII. What are my chances of getting the FCII? If the FAA will let me operate a massive metal tube for 15+ hours with 300 human beings in the back some day, shouldn't I be able to fly with tanks and cargo behind me or with bombs and missiles under me? Thanks for your time.

Mike34