Allergies/Allergy info

Guest JPritch

Guest JPritch

Flight Doc, I've read some of your other posts on allergies, but am having a hard time determining whether or not I will be DQ'd or waivered.

I've had seasonal allergies since I was a child. I've gotten prescriptions and even did allergy shots for a few years.

I've been allergy and prescription free for about 8 years now (I'm 24). I can cut grass, play softball in Spring etc. with no problems.

I started the allergy shot routine after age 12, but I'm pretty sure my first visit to the doctor about my allergies occurred before age 12. Would I be waiverable?

Otherwise, I have perfect vision and no history of any other medical problems. I'm hoping this one thing won't keep me from flying!

Guest 1lebo4#

JPritch,

I am not a Doc but I would not admit anything that is not affecting you now. I am a pilot and have dealt with plenty of flight Docs, most of them very good. All Navy and Marine pilots go through what we call NAMI WAMI. It is basically the king of medical evaluations in Pensacola Florida. When you get there the first thing you do in the morning is fill out a questionnaire about your medical condition. All kinds of questions about allergies, headaches etc. Some forms even have a question asking if you are breathing just to see if you are actually reading the questions. You see, pilots are known for checking no, whether it is true or not, on almost all questions so they throw in that trick question. My advice is to not admit anything minor that is not affecting you now - allergies included? One question asks if you have ever had allergy problems. Those who said yes spent the rest of the morning getting sticked with every mold, fungus, etc known to man even. Almost everybody has had some level of allergy problems in life. Do not give them a reason to DQ you unless you feel it is significant. Who cares if you had allergies as a kid? You may develop them in the future but then again you may not. Plenty of peop