Rated vs. Non-rated officer (Benefits of rating and pros and cons)

AFEAGLE09

I would like to know the difference between Air Force rated officers vs. their non-rated counterparts. I've heard being rated gives you opportunities for command and such, as opposed to being non-rated. Does being rated unlocks things non-rated officers don't have access to? What are the benefits of being rated? Please be thorough with your responses.

I used to be a non-rated officer. I went rated for a few reasons: opportunity to do something cool, ignore CGOC, and have a job that couldn't be outsourced to a civilian/contractor.

I used to be a non-rated officer. I went rated for a few reasons: opportunity to do something cool, ignore CGOC, and have a job that couldn't be outsourced to a civilian/contractor.

Huh? I'm pretty sure I see blue flightsuiters at the sim building, I saw a 85 year old dude in a tan flightsuit taxi a F-4 down the taxiway last week, and at pensacola some old geezers were flying navigators around teaching them how to chew tobacco and trace charts at the same time. Never think they can't outsource your job to a higher paid civilian....

Huh? I'm pretty sure I see blue flightsuiters at the sim building, I saw a 85 year old dude in a tan flightsuit taxi a F-4 down the taxiway last week, and at pensacola some old geezers were flying navigators around teaching them how to chew tobacco and trace charts at the same time. Never think they can't outsource your job to a higher paid civilian....

-they (blue suiters) teach sims so the green suiters can fly

-when was the last time anyone needed to qual in an F4? Yeah I'm pretty sure that isn't a concern

-at pcola the tan suits don't instruct in any formal sense. They fly the Toner while a green suit instructor sits jump seat and instruct the STUDS

I agree that MOST jobs can be outsourced to the civie side, but AD flying is NOT one of them IMO

Edited by hispeed7721