UAV (RPA) 2011 Grads

Guest Zerohour

Guest Zerohour

I received a email about two days ago that the air force is looking for about 55 soon to be LT's and 10 alternates from rotc to begin the new UAV pipeline which will then cease the pulling of pilots out of UPT completion. Its about a 10 month pipeline which includes IFS and 40 hrs of T-6 sim followed by UAV core training. so i ask, any of you non rated folks out there like myself considering this?

Edited by Zerohour

I'm a Dec 10 grad and was offered this last minute as well. I put in for for it around Aug time frame and never heard anything back.

Guest Zerohour

if you would like the email with the attached powerpoint i can send them it details everything. Also the board is meeting the week of DEC.6-10.

Sure that would be great. Thanks for the heads up! Definitely cutting it close but should be okay should I be chosen. I graduate Dec 15th. =P I wounder if we are eligible to be upgraded between commission and EAD. I'll be waiting around at home until April.

Guest Zerohour

from what i see, there is only one board because starting next year the UAV's will be a separate category for people applying for pilot, nav abm. So they will just check the box to compete for a UAV slot. and keep in mind AS OF NOW the only 3 bases that they are operating out of for AD, is creech, hollowman and...... cannon.

Edited by Zerohour

I received a email about two days ago that the air force is looking for about 55 soon to be LT's and 10 alternates from rotc to begin the new UAV pipeline which will then cease the pulling of pilots out of UPT completion.

That's what the newest pitch is? lol, tell your UPT bound buddies to not slack off just yet...they will be coming out of everywhere until the manning monster that is the as yet unnamed # of CAPs the Man wants gets satisfied...and that ain't for awhile.