Work while in college

Guest Demo

Guest Raccoon

After graduating High School I decided to take a year off from school and get a job so I can pay off my college tuition. Currently I work as a contractor for a small firm, it's a 6 days a week, 9-10 hours a day job. I realize once I start college next year there is no way I will be able to keep this job and still have time to study. I would like to know from you college graduates, what kind of jobs did you hold that didn't keep you too much from books and studying? I'll need at least $300-$350 a week so what would you suggest I look into?

[ 07. November 2004, 15:14: Message edited by: Raccoon ]

I graduate in May, but I've held at least one job (up to three during one semester) throughout my college career.

I'm a comp sci major and all of the jobs I've had were related to that. Some IT and some programming. In either case, these jobs helped me in school because I got to put what I learned into real practice.

That being said, if you can find something in a field that is related to your major you will help your studies by practicing what you've been taught. I'm sure everybody will have something different to say, but as you've noted you don't want to get too far away from your books.

On a related note -- I've found it best to try and work for a smaller, more personal company. They will often be more willing to give you days off to study for tests and/or leave early on some days. I did work for UPS for a semester and my manager was very willing to let me go for whole days sometimes to study... It will help you apply for a job as an intern and let them know that you are a college student (remind them if necessary) and they will work with you.