Corpus Christi info

Guest joedirt

Guest nickkra

I'm a UPT student hoping for T-44's. I have a wife, child, and a dog. Just wondering what the housing situation (on-base, rentals, etc.) is for AF Lt's going to Corpus for T-44 training?

Thanks for any advice.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I was a student in Corpus many years ago, and recently was an IP down there as well - the housing situation is SWEET!

I knew of very few folks that lived on base - they were in the middle of building / renovating new officer housing on base, HOWEVER, I would HIGHLY endorse living off-base.

If you choose to live off base, the opportunities are excellent. Both times, I lived on North Padre Island - as a stud, we (roommated and I) rented a fabulous party house right on the water, with our own dock, deck, and private indoor pool! We quickly proceeded to throw massive raging parties, wreck the place, and get in trouble with the Navy JAG, and get beat down...

This last time, as an IP (with a little more CA$H), I bought a nice house on Padre Island again, right on the water, with my own deck, dock, etc. Living waterfront is a unique priviledge that you are able to enjoy in Corpus.

There are plenty of rentals on Padre Island, from condos to homes, etc. Might as well enjoy your 6-9 months down there while your buddies are sucking it up in del rio / enid / columbus / et. al. Tons of fresh seafood. Excellent time, overall.

Much more info on corpus - hit the search feature (top of page)...

Guest borcherk

My wife, dog and I are in Corpus now. Rent here is pretty high. We pay $960 for a 3/bedroom apartment. Our friends who live on the island aren't so happy about that decision b/c they are so far from food, shopping etc. The housing office isn't very helpful so if you get your T-44 slot PM me and I can try to help.