Help understanding Dos Gringos

Bishop

Hey, I got my CD a few days ago, and have listened to it nonstop, I know they explain some of the terms in their insert( I knew most anyway). But I was curious of a few things.

Dropped the bomb that killed Sadam "We were screaming on that radio for KMART to let us go"

Whats KMART?

"Im a pilot"And the ECM pod that one’s my favorite joke

I know ECM is the Electronic countermeasures Pod (at least I Think) I dont understand what the joke is about forgeting to turn it on

JDAM Blues, I dont understand whats bad about dropping JDAM's

And also I dont understand the Fox 1, 2 and 3, I suspect is like.. do over or something, I dont know. I am sure I have lost a bit of credibility making this post.. but It has me curious.. Thanks... I uhh mean.. I wanted to ask for the newbies... yeah ;)

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest lightning4eva

there are people way more qualified than I to answer this.

But the part I am sure about is

FOX-1: AIM-7 Sparrow = Needs the radar of the firing a/c to guide it to the target. Last resort weapon. You are probably are out of AMRAAM's or don't have them. Good range but leaves your a/c open to attack from enemy a/c

FOX-2: AIM-9 Sidewinder = "Heater in your chest" Heat seaking missile. Used to have to fire from directly from behind but the newer AIM-9X is all-aspect missile. Short Range

FOX-3: AIM-120 AMRAAM (Advanced Medium Range Air to Air Missile) Fire and Forget, good range. The "only friend u'll ever need"...

Someone wanna take it from here???

Originally posted by Bishop:

Whats KMART?

KMART is/was the callsign of the JTF-SWA command post (2 star in charge) in Saudi Arabia during Operation Southern Watch. I'm sure the pointy-nosed guys on here will correct me if I'm wrong, but IIRC they typically would have to call KMART to get autorization to employ weapons.