Financing Engagement Ring

Guest BrewMaster

Guest BrewMaster

I'm looking into buying an engagement ring, and have absolutely no idea what I am doing. My main question is how does the financing work?

I've heard about 100 different things about how you buy them or how to finance them. Since there are probably quite a few of you who are probably somewhat recently familiar with this process, could you please shed some light on my situation. I want to go into this process with some knowledge so I know what I am doing once I start to buy, and so the store doesn't jerk me around. Do I make down-payments then get the ring, or get the ring then keep paying (like a car), or charge it to a card or what?

Or at least a suggestion about your experience or what worked best for you? Keep in mind I'm a poor college student and paying up front is out of the question.

Please some help...Thanks!!!

With financing.. well, are you going to put any down? Or, just put it on one of your credit cards? Or are you going to get a Jewlery store card?

Chances are: You are better off puttin it on one of your CC's, since it will probaly have a lower interest rate. Store CC's are high, like 20-25%

Remember, when looking for a ring, think of the four C's

1) Clarity

2) Carat

3) Color

4) Cut

If you can, take a female with you. Some one who knows your chick. That should help.

Anything else?

Edited by lcgsdmama

Happen to be reading this with my wife beside me and have this advice...

"In the end she'll be happy with whatever you get her." I'll assume (dangerous I know) that you've spoken to her about marriage in some context. You probably know what she'll like whether you think you know or not. Don't worry about the size, rather about getting something that will 'fit' her, aka something that fits who she is and what she likes.