Amblyopia issues

Guest audi20v

Guest audi20v

Hello,

I orginally posted this in the other forum, but think it probably makes more sense to be here...

-----------------

My career dream is to be a test pilot or at least some sort of pilot of high performance aircraft. I have a bachelor's degree in electrical engineering with a 4.0 GPA from a top school and I am currently obtaining my private pilot's license (13 hours with solo to date). Unfortunately, I have an eye condition called amblyopia, which means I have significantly reduced eyesight in one eye. Without correction, my vision is 20/40 in my left eye (good eye) and 20/80 in my right eye (bad eye). My left eye is near sighted and my right eye is farsighted. The most my eyes can be corrected to is 20/20 in the left and 20/40 in the right. I currently hold a third class FAA medical. I do not know if I could obtain a second class.

My question is whether I could ever get a pilot slot in the Air Force or Navy an eventually enroll in test pilot school. I believe that I have the academic qualifications and that getting into OTS would be no problem. But I don't want to set myself up for a huge disappointment. Are my dreams totally shattered, or is it possible?

Looking into other ways to get into the military aviation world, I've considered going to medical school and specializing in aviation medicine (since I've obviously got an interest in optical issues in aviation), or else obtaining an M.S. or Ph.D. in electrical engineering and going through test pilot school as an engineer. Can anybody comment on the viability of either of these career paths? While they're not pilot slots, maybe I would still get to do some flying with a 3rd class or at least be in the community? Nobody in my family is military, so I have no exposure to this world and have no idea how to get started.

Thanks very much for your help.

Guest pilotsingerole