ROTC Uniform questions

Guest masterchiefll

Guest masterchiefll

I'm a college freshman and I'll be starting AFROTC this spring. I don't receive my uniform 'til January (when school starts), so I was wondering...how many sets of uniforms am I gonna get? Do they issue the shoes/boots as well or do I need to buy them on my own?

you should get enough to get you by, the boots and shoes will be issued, other things like shirt garters you may have to buy. Other guys grab things like sweaters and the like on their own, but you will get what you need. How many sets i think sometimes depends on the det. We got two sets blues and one bdu before we went to FT, then we got some more for that.

Since I'm the uniform office guy at my det, I can tell you exactly what you will get.

1 LS Blue shirt

2 SS Blue shirts

2 blue trousers

1 pair of low's

tie

service coat

blue jacket

and all the the other little things. This is what is approved by HQ. For the BDU'S, you are allowed 1 set with boots. Any more questions, just ask.

Guest skipplet

You'll be issued boots with your bdus.

Originally posted by toastychicken:

Don't waste another second thinking about it. You will get what you need.

Seriously.

• 2 weeks later...

Dammit, you're going to college, you should be worrying about who can hook you up with a 30 rack of shit-beer (you can progress to say Newcastle or Guiness senior year), no more of this worrying about getting your uniforms!

• 7 months later...
Guest redthunder

Word in my ROTC detachment is that we're going to have to pay for the uniforms that were issued to us (even if we were on scholarship!) when we commission... does this make sense?

Has anyone else seen this at their other dets?

Thanks!

Yes, if you want to keep your uniforms you can purchase them at half price. Otherwise, take them to the dry cleaner and return them to the Det.

You can also check out the thrift store on base for cheap uniforms

[ 17. August 2006, 09:26: Message edited by: whitman ]